Lock and unlock clauses
In this article
This article is relevant for:
Authors and contributors
Locking a clause
The Online Collaborative Authoring has been designed so that multiple people can edit the same document at the same time without getting in each other's way.
When you are editing a clause, you will see the lock icon appear on the left of the clause. In addition you will also see that the clause has been locked by you
This means that no one else can edit the clause at the same time, and other users will see (in read-only mode) the clause as it was before you started editing it.
Clauses locked by others
Clauses that are locked for editing will appear greyed-out with a grey lock icon on the left of the clause. In addition, you will see the name of the user who has locked it:
Clause 2 Normative references and the Bibliography are locked for editing to all users. See Add references in the normative references & bibliography clauses for further details.
To unlock a (sub)clause you have locked, simply click on the green padlock icon you see on the top-left corner of the particular (sub)clause.
To unlock all (sub) clause(s) locked by you, click on the Menu, and select Unlock all my clauses. To unlock all (sub) clause(s) in the document, click on the Menu, and select Unlock all clauses
This feature is only available to Committee and WG officers (Leaders)